The Complete Carl Barks Disney Library Vol. 26: The Golden Nugget Boat Review

The Complete Carl Barks Disney Library

Fantagraphics launched the Complete Carl Barks Disney Library with Lost in the Andes in December 2011. Since then, they have released two volumes each year. The volumes in this library are numbered chronologically, but they are being released in a different order. For example, the first volume released, Lost in the Andes, is volume 7. Carl Barks Disney comics were published between 1942 and 1966. When the Complete Carl Barks Disney Library is completed, it will have around 30 volumes. Carl Barks is in the Eisner Comic Book Hall of Fame, and he is a Disney Legend which makes this library essential reading for Disney Duck Fans as well as all Disney and comic book fans.

The Golden Nugget Boat

The Complete Carl Barks Disney Library Vol. 26: The Golden Nugget Boat was released by Fantagraphics in August 2022.

Both illustrations on the cover of this book are from the story The Golden Nugget Boat.

This edition of the Carl Barks library is 208 pages, and it includes 23 stories that were published between 1960-1962. Comic covers that Carl Barks worked on during this period are also featured in this volume. There is a short biography on Carl Bark’s life as well as behind the scenes pictures and stories about each and every story that is included in this edition. It is full of great and interesting information and should be considered a text book of information for fans of Uncle Scrooge and Donald Duck. I am glad that it is included in this volume and every volume of the Carl Barks Disney Library.

This volume also includes a 4 page article titled “It Was the Best of Dimes” about Scrooge’s Number One Dime.

Carl Barks Disney Library Vol. 26 is available in hardcover and Kindle\Comixology versions. A link to buy this book can be found at the end of this review.

The next new release in this series, Carl Barks Library Vol. 27: Duck Luck, will be released in November 2022.

Included Stories

There are 23 stories included in this volume:

  • The Golden Nugget Boat
  • A Thrift Gift
  • That’s No Fable!
  • Clothes Make the Duck
  • Billions in the Hole
  • Bongo on the Congo
  • Chugwagon Derby
  • Mythic Mystery
  • Gift Lion
  • The Midas Touch
  • His Shining Hour
  • Money Bag Goat
  • Cave of the Winds
  • The Madball Pitcher
  • Mixed-Up Mixer
  • The Call of the Wild
  • The Bear Tamer
  • Tale of the Tape
  • That Small Feeling
  • You Can’t Win
  • Wily Rival
  • Fast Away Castaway
  • Duckburg’s Day of Peril

Scrooge takes Donald and the boys to Alaska on search of golden nuggets in The Golden Nugget Boat. If Scrooge wants to win the sourdoughs contest with the biggest nugget, he is going to have to beat out his lucky nephew, Gladstone Gander. Scrooge pays his way to and around Alaska with gold pieces from a golden miniature boat that was forged from an Alaska gold nugget.

Scrooge sends Donald a going away gift of matched luggage for his vacation in A Thrift Gift. The matching luggage is actually tied cloth on a stick.

Scrooge discovers the Fountain of Youth while he is in Florida looking for land to build cities on in That’s No Fable!

Daisy wants to invite Scrooge to a fancy club party that she is in charge of in Clothes Make the Duck. Scrooge does not want to go to the party because he will have to dress in fancy attire which would require him to buy a new suit.

Scrooge’s engineers built him an atom subtractor invention to shrink satellites to send to space in Billions in the Hole. The Beagle Boys may have other ideas for Scrooge assets that can be shrunk.

Scrooge is determined to make Donald the next tycoon of the McDuck empire in Bongo on the Congo. Scrooge tries to convince him that all difficulties are little and breezy which may have been a slightly fabricated statement.

Scrooge and Donald compete in a no rules anything goes antique car race in Chugwagon Derby.

Valhalla is on a collision course with Earth in Mythic Mystery. It is up to our favorite Duck family from Duckburg to team up with Thor and solve the mystery.

Scrooge receives a Gift Lion from a stranger to guard his money bin when the lock on his bin refuses to lock, but is the lion really a lion?

Scrooge meets the sorceress Magica De Spell for the very first time in The Midas Touch. Magica is after Scrooge’s Number One Dime along with other coins touched by the world’s richest citizens. She hopes to melt the coins in the fires of Mount Vesuvius to make an amulet that will help her become rich like the owners of the coins. She thinks Scrooge’s Number One Dime holds the most power become he has touched it the most.

Gyro Gearloose invents a home shoe shiner in His Shining Hour, but he forgets to wear his shoes when he tests it out.

Scrooge is gifted a goat that is trained to eat only money in Money Bag Goat. A one way trip to the mountains is planned for the got where he will learn to eat grass.

Scrooge and Gyro Gearloose head to the Aeolian Mountains in search of Scrooge’s missing bonds in Cave of the Winds.

Gyro Gearloose invents an unmissable bat and an unhitable ball for a baseball game in The Madball Pitcher.

Gyro Gearloose helps block a flood from Grandma Duck’s farm with his new concrete mixer in Mixed-Up Mixer.

Gyro Gearloose makes a proper moose caller in The Call of the Wild.

Gladstone Gander needs Gyro Gearloose’s help in taking a bear so that he can be crowned King of the Horseshoe Kids in The Bear Tamer.

Gyro Gearloose sets up a recorder next to his bed to see if he snores at night in Tale of the Tape.

Gyro Gearloose gets asked by an Amazon Witch Doctor to increase the powers of a voodoo doll in That Small Feeling.

Gyro Gearloose invents a serum to shape trees in You Can’t Win.

Gyro Gearloose meets a rival inventor whom he desperately wants to get a peek at their invention in Wily Rival.

Gyro Gearloose maroons himself on a deserted island to test out his new lifetime survival kit for castaways invention in Fast Away Castaway.

Gyro Gearloose’s inventions are needed to save Duckburg from a giant rogue in Duckburg’s Day of Peril. But who is going to save Gyro?

Final Thoughts

Magica De Spell’s debut in The Midas Touch is definitely the highlight of this volume for me. I have loved the Magica De Spell character from other duck comic stories and from both DuckTales series, but I had never had the chance to read her origin Carl Barks story where she first gets her obsession for Scrooge McDuck’s Number One Dime. It all makes sense now. This is an essential story for Disney Duck fans to experience, and I am so thrilled that I finally got to read it. It was long overdue. This is text book Disney Duck material. That is just one of the twenty three highly entertaining duck tales that are included in this book.

We get treated in the back of the book to a few of the fantastic comic covers that Carl Barks illustrated.

The behind the scenes content on each story really completes this volume for a comprehensive experience. I can’t wait to read through the rest of the volumes in the Carl Barks Library. This is volume 26. So we only have volumes 27-30 and 1-4 left until Fantagraphics’ Complete Carl Barks Disney Library is completed.

As a reminder: It would take a lot of time and money to compile a comic collection that included all of these stories. Anything that takes a lot of time and money would not be approved by Scrooge McDuck.

Thank you to Fantagraphics for allowing us to go through this Disney Duck journey. I feel smarter for increasing my Disney Duck knowledge base by reading this volume.

HIGHLY RECOMMEND!

You can order the book at the following link:

The Complete Carl Barks Disney Library Vol. 26: The Golden Nugget Boat

*By purchasing from Amazon.com through this link above, you are supporting DuckTalks at no additional cost to yourself!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s