Fantagraphics Disney Masters Vol. 9: The Ice Sword Saga Book 1 Review

Disney Masters

Fantagraphics launched the Disney Masters Series with Vol. 1: The Delta Dimension in May 2018. Since then they have published a few new volumes in the Disney Masters series each year. Volumes have been alternating between the central character and story being Mickey Mouse related or Donald Duck/Uncle Scrooge.

Fantagraphics presents Disney Masters – acclaimed artists from around the world working in the grand Walt Disney tradition. Many of these stories are new to American readers and appear here for the first time in English. Fresh new artwork, fresh new adventures, and fresh new laughs!

Disney Masters Vol. 9: The Ice Sword Saga

Book Description:

Mickey and Goofy get invoved in some sword and socery in this volume!

The tyrannical Shadow Prince rules the otherworldly land of Argaar, and only a hero foretold by legend can dethrone him ― by plunging the powerful Sword of Ice into a magic stone. But when a wizened wizard seeks out that hero, he summons Mickey and Goofy – who soon find themselves embroiled in a royal rumble of giants, dragons, and impossible danger! But one “Sword of Ice” saga isn’t enough! In “The Tournament of Argaar,” Mickey and Goofy return to the mystical land of their greatest challenge to brave deadly volcanoes, steampunk whirlamagigs, and rampaging dinosaurs! Hang onto your swords and shields!

Disney Masters Vol. 9: Mickey Mouse: The Ice Sword Saga Book 1 was released by Fantagraphics in August 2019. The stories included in this volume were originally published in Italy and appear here in English for the first time.

This volume of the Disney Masters series is 184 pages and features Disney Master Massimo De Vita.

A short biography on Massimo De Vita is included at the back of this volume.

Disney Masters Vol. 9: The Ice Sword Saga Book 1 is available in hardcover and Kindle\Comixology versions. A link to buy this book can be found at the end of this review.

The next two new release volumes in the Disney Masters series have already been announced and are available for preorder:

Disney Masters Vol. 17: Mickey Mouse: The Man from Alcatraz

Disney Masters Vol. 18: Uncle Scrooge: Pie in the Sky

Included Stories

There are 2 stories included in Disney Masters Vol. 9:

  • The Secret of the Ice Sword
  • The Great Tournament of Argaar

The Secret of the Ice Sword is a Lord of the Rings type adventure for Mickey Mouse and Goofy on Christmas Eve. Our heroes are invited on a quest to save the land of Argaar with their guide Boz. This saga includes wizards, dwarves, giants, dragons, and elves. The villain in this story is the invisible Prince of Mists. Mickey and Goofy are the only hope to save Argaar from the Prince of the Mists, but they can only do that if they are able to retrieve the secret sword of the Ice Sword.

Mickey Mouse and Goofy are once again summoned on Christmas Eve to the land of Argaar to take part in The Great Tournament of Argaar. The winner of the tournament will receive a crystalline mineral called a gherrodite which would save Argaar from a volcano. Goofy winning the tournament is Argaar’s only hope.

Final Thoughts

The Secret of the Ice Sword Saga is an epic high fantasy saga that starts with book 1 with Disney Masters Vol. 9. The adventure continues in book 2 with Disney Masters Vol. 11. This is a very different Mickey and Goofy story series than we have read before with the other Mickeycentric Disney Masters volumes. I really enjoyed the epic quests and lore that Massimo De Vita introduced for Mickey and Goofy with this volume.

I love the Disney Masters series because we get treated to stories and illustrations from more great Disney comic creators besides the legendary Barks and Rosa. We may have never had a chance to read these stories outside of Fantagraphics’ Disney Masters series.

I am definitely looking forward to reading future volumes of Fantagraphics’ Disney Masters series. A big thank you to Fantagraphics for sending us this book to review so that we can continue our education and journey through the history of Disney Comics.

You can purchase Disney Masters Vol. 9 and Vol. 11 at the links below:

Order: Disney Masters Vol. 9: Mickey Mouse: The Ice Sword Saga Book 1

Order: Disney Masters Vol. 11: Mickey Mouse: The Ice Sword Saga Book 2

*By purchasing from through this link above you are supporting DuckTalks at no additional cost to yourself!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s